Orlik castle dates back to the 13th century during the reign of King Wenceslas II. The castle has been restored and transformed many times while not losing any of its beauty. The last significant restoration was between 1849 and 1860 when the façade was changed to the present day Neo-Gothic style.
When the castle was built, it was 60 meters higher above the river than it is today. This change in elevation is due to the building of the Orlik dam and the subsequent flooding of the river Vltava to create Lake Orlik.
The interior of the castle showcases many of the Schwarzenberg family’s furnishings, family trees and small armory. The Knight’s Hall has a spectacular carved ceiling, made entirely of wood, and completed in 4 years time.
Our guide was gracious enough to let us take a few photos of the interior as they are not allowed generally.