| || |
| || | | |
| || |
Day 2 Saints and Sinners
- Aug 24, 2006
As we travel to St Andrews and Fife our first stop is the village of South Queensferry on the Firth of Forth.
Departing from outside the Hawes Inn (Robert Louis Stevenson was a frequent visitor) you will have the option of a one-hour discounted boat trip (£8.00) on the Firth of Forth. As well as sailing under the spectacular Forth Bridges, there will be be opportunity for seal and wildlife spotting as we cruise past Inchgarvie and Incholm islands.
Non-sailors can enjoy a morning coffee quayside, stroll around the village and admire the stunning views of the Forth Rail Bridge and the Forth Road Bridge.
The Forth Rail Bridge (opened 1890) is 2.5 kms long and was one of the major engineering achievements of the Victorian age. The bridge took seven years to build, and more than fifty men were killed during its construction.
The contractors used 55,000 tons of steel and eight million rivets to complete one of Scotland's most impressive landmarks. An engineering marvel.
We reach St Andrews at lunchtime. After a short familiarisation tour you will have three hours to explore this compact historic town, Fife's gem.
St Andrews is internationally renowned as the 'Home of Golf' and you will have plenty of time to see the famous Old Course - a place of pilgrimage for golfers of all abilities.
Why not try to beat the Heart of Scotland course record on the notorious 'Himalayas' putting course?
St Andrews was one of the most important religious sites in medieval Europe and the ruins of the massive Cathedral are only 5 mins walk from the Castle, perched above the North Sea. There are two beaches in St Andrews - the opening scenes of 'Chariots of Fire' were filmed on the West 'Sands'
The oldest University in Scotland (established 1411) is located here. Its architectural legacy can be seen all over the town. The late Princess Diana's eldest son, Prince William, studied here.
Our route home takes us down the coast to the charming fishing villages of the East Neuk. We stop at Crail, the oldest of the East Neuk burghs and admire its 16th century harbour, one of the most photographed in Scotland. Salt and coal were once traded through the small ports of the East Neuk and in return the riches of Europe were brought to Fife.
The architecture of this area is heavily influenced by past trade with Europe, particularly the Netherlands. The orange coloured pan-tiles which predominate on the roofs of the buildings were originally brought by the Dutch, who used them as ballast in their ships. The fresh sea air, whitewashed buildings and cobbled lanes are a favourite with locals and visitors alike.
Our return to Edinburgh takes us through the villages of Anstruther, Pittenweem, St Monans and Elie.
- Album was created 9 years 2 months ago and modified 9 years 1 month ago
- 118 files
| || |
Day 4 Lochness and Hamish
- Aug 26, 2006
going to search for great monster of the lake and finding Hamish, hairy cow!
- Album was created 9 years 1 month ago and modified 9 years 1 month ago
- 87 files